Skip navigation

In a small church in Modica, Sicily, I came across this work of what I would think qualifies as folk art.  There was no information, and I assume it is an unheralded example of anonymously made religious handicraft, which by the handles on its side seems to suggest it is likely taken out during celebrations, during Easter.   Lacking all academic instinct I did not inquire, or even note the name of the church (or town).  Instead I marveled at its lively, cinema-like orchestration; the vivid characterizations (clearly out of keeping with present “politically correct” views).  And I took many pictures.

Nearby, another work, clearly done by similar hands, revealed a truly moving sense of pathos and defeat.

While scarcely the equal of “fine” art – Donatello, Bernini, Michelangelo – there is something in the crude and primitive qualities of this tableaux which cuts deeper in an emotional sense.   This Christ is far more believable to me than those of Michelangelo’s wet-dreams, such as that in the Chiesa di Santa Maria sopra Minerva in Rome.

[If anyone reading this can identify the church in which this work is located, I'd much appreciate knowing.  I think it is in Modica, and if I were there I think I could readily walk right to it but a Google map doesn't seem to get me there.]


2 Comments

  1. hi jon,
    kristen alexander in woods hole suggested i get in touch with you.
    i recently lost my two daughters. my wife from spain took the girls to spain a year ago and i haven’t been able to see them since.
    i’m still fighting to see them.
    jon in woods hole


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,445 other followers

